F22 1

Deadline: Wed, Oct 27, midnight EST $40 Entry Fee

Call for Entry

Fellowship 22

Silver Eye Center for Photography announces a Call for Entries for Fellowship 22, our annual photography competition. Winners receive a cash award and an exhibition at Silver Eye with free production support from the Lab @ Silver Eye. Winning exhibitions will take place in the summer of 2022. Two prizes and four honorable mentions will be included in the exhibition, The Fellowship Award recognizes a rising talent or established photographer from anywhere in the world, and the Keystone Award is given to an exceptional photographer living or making work in the state of Pennsylvania.

This year’s awards will be juried by a panel consisting of Dan Boardman, Executive Director of Light Work, Syracuse, New York, Brian Paul Clamp, Director, ClampArt, New York, New York, and Helen Trompeteler, an independent curator and writer specializing in photography. Helen has eighteen years of experience leading exhibitions and partnerships for internationally significant collections, including the Royal Collection (2016-20) and the National Portrait Gallery, London (2002-16).

Submit Now

All award winners and honorable mentions will receive a cash prize and be included in the Fellowship 22 exhibition in the summer of 2022.

Fellowship Award: $1,000 cash prize
Keystone Award: $1,000 cash prize
Honorable Mentions: Four $500 prizes

About the Jurors

Dan Boardman is the Director of Light Work in Syracuse, NY, is a visual artist and educator. Boardman received a BFA in photography from the Rochester Institute of Technology in 2008 and an MFA from the Massachusetts College of Art and Design in 2012. He has exhibited his photographic work both nationally and internationally and is held in public and private collections.

Brian Paul Clamp is the owner and director of ClampArt, a gallery in Chelsea in New York City specializing in modern and contemporary art with an emphasis on photography. ClampArt mounts ten to fifteen exhibitions per year featuring the work of emerging and mid-career artists. Mr. Clamp opened the gallery in 2000 after completing a Master of Arts degree in Critical Studies in Modern Art at Columbia University. For eight years prior to that Mr. Clamp served as the director of a gallery on Manhattan’s Upper East Side specializing in late 19th- and early 20th-century American paintings. Aside from exhibitions at his own gallery space, Clamp has curated numerous photography shows at various venues throughout the United States, and has reviewed photographers’ portfolios at dozens of events over many years.

Helen Trompeteler is a curator and writer specializing in photography. She is a committed advocate for the civic role of museum collections as catalysts for contemporary dialogue and cultural exchange. Helen has eighteen years of experience leading exhibitions and partnerships for internationally significant collections, including the Royal Collection (2016-20) and the National Portrait Gallery, London (2002-16). Further roles include board member of Four Corners (2017-present), the Museums Association Transformers leadership program (2018-19), and the Josef Breitenbach Research Fellowship at the Center for Creative Photography (2016).

What to Enter

-Work sample of twenty images or less
-One-page Artist’s Statement in PDF format
-One Page Artist bio or CV in PDF format
-One page checklist that includes the file number, title, and date of all submitted images. You can see a sample checklist and image file names here.

You may submit up to 20 images, and up to a total of 30MB. Image files should be JPGs or a single PDF file. Images files must be titled with the image number (01-20) and the artists last name. For example: 02_smith.jpg

How to enter

Go to our online entry form to submit your work!

Fellowship Fees

$40 for one submission of 20 images

Full Guidelines/Eligibility/Terms & Conditions/FAQs

Questions, contact Kate Kelley at kate@silvereye.org.

Previous Winners

Fellowship 21
Fellowship Award, Sasha Phyars-Burgess
Keystone Award, J Houston and Aleem Hurst

Fellowship 20
Fellowship Award, Rory Doyle
Keystone Award, Erik Hagen

Fellowship 19
Fellowship Award, Tim Carpenter
Keystone Award, Rebecca Arthur

Fellowship 18
Fellowship Award, Soohyun Kim
Keystone Award, Tamsen Wojtanowski

Fellowship 17
Fellowship Award, Kris Sanford
Keystone Award, Francis Crisafio

Fellowship 16
Fellowship Award, Ka-Man Tse
Keystone Award, Aaron Blum

Fellowship 15
Fellowship Award, Christopher Meerdo
Keystone Award, Matthew Conboy

Submit Now